VirtualMV/Internet and Web/Advertising
|Internet and Web|
|Theory||Introduction | What is HTML? | Client Server ecosystem | Glossary | History and Future | How the Internet works | Types of Website | Markup Languages | Interactive Websites ||
|Web Tools||Web Browsers | Search Engines (SEO Optimization) | World Wide Web (Hypertext and Page) | Cookies | Email | Discussion Forums | FTP | (SSH, IRC)|
|Technologies||Connecting | Broadband | Mobile | Web Conferencing | Intranets, Extranets, Tunneling | Gateway Servers ||
|Issues||Security | Legal (Privacy, Confidentiality, Integrity) | Copyright and Fairdealing | Accessibility | Culture and Netiquette ||
|Web Site Development||Planning ( Types | For Mobile) | Development (Design Components | Graphic Design) | Programming | Hosting | Marketing and Promotion | Advertising | Business Intelligence | Monitoring and Maintenance (Performance Tuning)|
|Web Site Management||Roles | Management | User Expectations | Content Management | Site Maintenance | Policies and Guidelines | Promotion | Risk Management|
By the end of this page you will be able to:
In order to understand the concept of Google Adsense, this was added to the teaching wiki in August 2011. The discussion and screen captures illustrate progress in the initial stages. Note: If you log-in to the wiki the advertisements will not show, so they are only shown when browsing the wiki anonymously.
vMVwiki earnings summary
From Aug 1, 2011
|Date||Page views||Clicks||Page CTR||CPC||Page RPM||Est Earnings|
|2011, Aug 22||954||6||0.63%||$0.28||$1.79||$1.71|
|2011, Sep 6||3,384||14||0.41%||$0.34||$1.41||$4.78|
- Page CTR = The page clickthrough rate (CTR) is the number of ad clicks divided by the number of page views.
- Cost-per-click (CPC) = The amount an advertiser pays each time a user clicks his or her ad. The CPC for any ad is determined by the advertiser; some advertisers may be willing to pay more per click than others, depending on what they're advertising.
- Revenue per 1000 impressions (RPM) = the estimated earnings that you'd accrue for every 1000 impressions that you receive.