From WikiEducator
Jump to: navigation, search
Contact-new.svg Krishna Alluri
WikiEducator logo100.jpg
Country:Canada India
Certificate yellow.svg
This user was certified a Wiki Apprentice Level 1 by Mackiwg .

My Profile

Professional Background

I am Krishna Alluri and my educational background and working experience are in Agriculture and in international development in general. My particular interests are in ICT-mediated learning provision for food security, environmental sustainability, rural development and poverty reduction.

My personal interests are greater in out-door activities including walking/hiking and golf, followed by indoor games such as playing bridge and pool games. during younger days i was very active in cricket and racket games such as tennis, badminton and squash.

Of recent i had the opportunity to be associated with projects related monitoring and evaluation of agricultural education, research, development and also in developing a concept note for reorienting formal higher agricultural education.


Primary Education my first school is 'Children's Garden School' in Chennai. It was run by an Indian and his wife, an Anglo Indian. i have very good memories from that school.

Secondary Education i joined Kesari High School and studied upto the year before final year of high school. From there we moved to Hyderabad (capital city of then newly created Andhra Pradesh). i joined a public school - Nampalle High School, where i comepleted the final year of high school and obtained my secondary school leaving certificate (SSLC).

Post Secondary Education i obtained a B.Sc. in biology, geology and chemistry from Osmania University and a B.Sc. and M.Sc. in agriculture from the then Andhra Pradesh Agricultural University (APAU), which is now known as Acharya NG Ranga Agricultural University (ANGRAU). From there i went to the Philippines with a grant from the Rockefeller Foundation to the International Rice Research Institute (IRRI). As . As a Research Fellow, i conducted thesis research at IRRI and did course work at the University of the Philippines at Los Banos (UPLB).

My Interests


my professional interests are diverse and in general they are related to international development. my specific interests are in agricultural research, extension and education. with my last over 10 years of experience with the Commonwealth of Learning (COL), i am keen to promote information and communication technologies-mediated open and distance education (Tech-MODE) for life long learning.


i am an active person and like mainly outdoor activities including, wlaking, hiking, golf and tennis. after retiring from COL, i am playing more time golfing. in-door activities include aerobics, pranayana (breathing based yoga exercises), and playing bridge game. i also like table tennis and pool games.

Here are some photos

My Projects

since retiring from COL, i have been invited to work as a consultant in projects related to review, evaluation, developing concept papers and proposals for funding, and in the advisory capacity.

My Sandbox

My sandbox

My Reflection

thanks to the course facilitators, Patricia Schicht and Rob Kruhlak, and to the fellow Wikieducators, my reflection is positive and i am enjoying this experience.

Feedback & Notes from my WikiNeighbours

Your feedback is welcome

(Comment.gif: Hi Krishna. Well done, you made a great start. I enter the template and info box for later certification. You are on your way of becoming a skills WikiMaster. Re uploading images, the way you tried to upload the image will not work properly. You will need to upload it again. Type the following syntax where you want the photo to go- [Image:Krishnaalluri.jpg). --Patricia Schlicht 20:40, 24 January 2010 (UTC)
(Comment.gif: Hi Krishna. You have made a wonderful start, but it needs a tiny bit more to get your first certification. See the Wiki Cheatsheet at the beginning of the work schedule on our workshop page, to help you along. Cheers, --Patricia Schlicht 00:59, 31 January 2010 (UTC))

Welcome to eL4C34

Your facilitators: