Discussion thread: Introductions

From WikiEducator
Jump to: navigation, search

Discussion thread: Introductions

Icon objectives.jpg
Edit tab at the top of this page
  1. Make sure that you have an account on WikiEducator and that you are currently logged in. (Your WikiEducator username will appear as a link on the top right-hand area of your browser window.
  2. Click on the edit tab (towards the top of your browser screen), after finishing your edition, sign your edit by clicking on the Button sig.png or typing four tildes (~~~~) then click on the save button below your screen. You may also see help page on signatures.
  3. Click back to Wiki Discussions Menu here or on "Wiki Discussions" link located in navigation template above.

Rob Kruhlak

ByrneCreekAutumn.jpg I am a citizen of Canada and New Zealand. In 2006, I finished a post-doctoral fellowship in fibre optics and laser physics at the University of Auckland and moved to Vancouver, BC, Canada where I currently reside. I have a PhD and Masters in Physics from Washington State University and BSc in Math and Physics from Northern Michigan University. I have taught Physics and Chemistry at the tertiary level for over 10 years and am currently an education technology consultant.

My first edit on WikiEducator was 22 March 2007 and am an appointed member of the Wikieducator Community Council. Some of the projects I have worked on are mulitmedia simulations, pedagogical templates and the style guide.

I am proud to be involved with a community of great WikiEducators. Please feel free to post your introduction and comments on this page. You may also want to contact me via email Rob Kruhlak 06:44, 13 November 2009 (UTC)

Paul Bwalya

My name is Paul Bwalya and am a Zambian citizen living in Zambia. I am a Metallurgist by profession and I studied Metallurgy and Mineral processing at the University of Zambia. I have been working in the mining sector for over 8 years in the extration of copper and cobalt. I spent one year in Germany to do professional studies in Quality Management Systems. I have also pursued e-learning development and inplementation with the Tele Akademie of Germany and I have a certificate in New Learning technologies. In my work I develop young engineers comming into the industry and help them settle into the job and ensure their safety as they get into the operating plants. I feel motivated as I try to bring change in instructional design and traing delivery in Industry and wish to tap on the potential of knowledge sharing which will ensure long life learning.

Desalegn Adugna

My name is Desalegn Adugna, I'm a citizen of Ethiopia living in Addis. By profession I'm a teacher teaching different IT courses and I'm graduated in Information System B.sc. and Vocational Education Management MA both at Addis Ababa University. I'm now working as Technology transfer vice dean at general Wingate TVET College. I'm eager to do some thing on Edutech especially on Content design and implementation for online learning.

Sandy Causer aka Wakalena

Sandy 40px.jpg Hello everyone,

I am currently "between jobs" - a year ago I resigned from my position as a Vocational Education and Training (VET) Manager and have had this year mostly as a recuperating/resting/learning year (although I have been doing some consultancy as well). Next year it is back to full time work - just have to find it :) Currently living a very short walk from Bondi Beach in Sydney and am studying the Diploma in Training and Assessment at Northern Sydney TAFE.

Have set up a wiki before as part of my course. This can be viewed here http://trainingmethods.wikispaces.com/ and I am reasonably active in contributing to this group blog site http://trainteachassess.wordpress.com/

Found out about this course and WikiEducator because I follow Sarah Stewart's [1] very interesting blog and she mentioned that she was doing this course. I am hoping to get more knowledge and skills about how wiki's can be used for educational collaboration and learning (secretly, I would like to see a wiki textbook on Adult Education and Training - 80 AUD plus for textbook is outrageous and not everybody can afford it!)

What am I planning to do with this new knowledge? Maybe start an Adult Education and Training Wiki ;) Also want to use wikis in my facilitating (especially when it is online).

If you see something with WAKALENA as the sign in name - that is me. Many people have asked why I use that sign in name. This is my guiding name (as in Girl Guides/Boy Scouts) and was given to me many many many years ago by a group of Brownies (the youngest age group). It is Aboriginal and means "sunshine". When I asked them why they chose this name they told me that I was always bright and happy, like the sunshine.

Looking forward to having FUN with you all, Sandy

Wakalena 06:59, 22 November 2009 (UTC)

Redcamarocruiser 02:43, 23 November 2009 (UTC)

80pxMary Ziller

Hello everyone, My name is Mary. I am a beginner with wikis. I am a librarian and TEFL certified. I am staying in Brazil with my husband, who is on sabbatical leave. I am interested in improving my online teaching skills and learning about wikis in education. Teaching online seems to require a different skill set than face to face teaching and more preparation. Here is Brazil, I do not have access to a high-end computer or fast internet connection, which is problematic for applications such as second life and wiziq. I am very glad to be accepted in the commmuity and hope to contribute something of value. I am currently active in a worksheet exchange group and create materials for English Teachers. --Redcamarocruiser 02:48, 23 November 2009 (UTC)

Karen Caldwell

Hi, My name is Karen Caldwell and I am a teacher in hairdressing at Sunshine Coast TAFE on the Sunshine Coast in Queensland, Australia. I have taught hairdressing for 7 years now and have a certificate III in hairdressing (trade qualification), Bachelor of Adult & Workplace education and currently completing my Masters in Education, Innovation and Design. I am married with three children 17,15, and 13 - all boys.Karenc 09:18, 23 November 2009 (UTC)

Joyce McKnight

Hello everyone. I am very glad to be participating in this workshop and, in fact, have taken the next few days off to mostly concentrate on learning these skills. I am a professor at the Center for Distance Learning of Empire State College, a branch of the State University of New York that specializes in adult students. I am very excited about the the possibilities of Open Educational Resources, but a bit unsure of their implications for education as we know it. I deeply believe that all of the world's knowledge should belong to all of the world's people, a good place to start, I hope. Even though I have worked in the online environment for seven years now and have developed more than a dozen courses, new technology makes me nervous so bear with me please. I am very excited to be part of this international community.--Joyce McKnight 22:58, 24 November 2009 (UTC)

Angie Dubis


My name is Angie and I am definitely a Wiki novice! I have been teaching live continuing education courses for massage therapists and health professionals for 8 years both independently and as a contractor for multiple companies. Over the last year and a half I have been converting the cognitive knowledge components of my courses into elearning classes. My brother, Bill, was my web guy until June of this year. He unexpectedly passed away from a bacterial infection. So here I am learning Wiki, Dreamweaver, Moodle and any other tools necessary to make our goals reality on an insanely low budget! It has been an adventure full of tears, frustration, love, devotion, spirit, and determination - my own and those that support me. I am excited to continue in my path overcoming obstacles and working toward triumph! I have been blessed to find an unending supply of free elearning and live coursework to aid me in my goal and feel Learning4Content offers me a chance to learn, as well as, give back to the community that has supported me through these difficult times.

Blessings to All --Ambrily73 07:34, 25 November 2009 (UTC)

Norbert Boruett

--Nboruett 03:05, 24 November 2009 (UTC)Hi, My names are 'Norbert Boruett' from the republic of Kenya. Basically i am a project manager of project that has been involved in initiating innovative medical education to middle level colleges that produce health workers. Our mandate has been mainly within the Goverment colleges, because the collaboration has been between the Belguim and Kenyan Goverment. Nonetheless we have shared with some faithbase and private institutions. We have also crossed the borders and assisted some countries in the region, mostly via technical assistance. One of areas that we have interest is the e learning and now we have a learning platform based in Moodle.As a system administator of the plaform i was pleased when the program manager forwarded me the wiki course- i have always felt that i was not very competent in handling the wiki. With this course i see myself fully exploiting all the attributes of the wiki --Des 16:01, 19 November 2009 (UTC)

Jaap Bosman

I am 4 meters below sea level and dry and warm. Untill 1930 here only was water and fish and ships. Now potatoes, paprika, and other food is growing here. Wind mills everywhere, only the modern ones. [Read more ...]

Sarah Stewart

I live in Dunedin, New Zealand but every opportunity I get to go to the warmer climes of Australia I take them. I am in the middle of a mid life crises and moving more away from my primary profession, midwifery, into education support and facilitation. I am taking a leap of faith and starting up a consultancy business to support education with eLearning. My passion is to make midwifery and health resources openly available so that we support each other far more effectively than we currently do, especially our colleagues in less privileged countries and communities. Sarah Stewart 03:36, 28 November 2009 (UTC)

Hector Mongi

I am Tanzanian, living in the central city of Dodoma. I am an academic member of staff at the College of Informatics and Virtual Education of the University of Dodoma. I graduated MSc Natural Resource Assessment and Management (University of Dar es salaam) and MSc Information Technology Management (Carnegie Mellon University). I am teaching, researching and consulting on interface courses such as Geographical Information Systems and Project Management. One of my job requirements is to develop course materials for the students I teach. I think WikiEducator training will help me achieve this, and is indeed a motive behind my participartion