From WikiEducator
Jump to: navigation, search



My name is Gavin Heath, although I do have two middle names, Edward and Craig. Institution: I am employed as lecturer geography education at the University of KwaZulu-Natal (Edgewood campus) and have worked there for almost eleven years. Family: I have a fiance (Bronwen) and a cat (Bella) and we live in a flat in Kloof outside Pinetown. The rest of my family live in Cape Town.

University of KwaZulu-Natal


Academic qualifications: BA (1989), HDE (1990) and Masters in City and Regional Planning (2000), all from the University of Cape Town . I matriculated at Fish Hoek High School in Cape Town. I lecture a number of Geography for educators courses to prospective teachers. In addition, I have a lot of expertise in environmental and tourism planning.

University of Cape Town


I love the outdoors and am especailly interested in mountaineering as well as mountain biking. I also enjoy body boarding and schnorkelling. Culture wise, I am really into reading and watching movies, and really enjoy a good opera now and again. I also love travelling, both in South Africa (especially the Karoo) and overseas, especially Italy.

Current research

Working on a PhD (proposal stage), which will be on environmental education in the Cederberg, and have just submitted two papers for publication, one on tourism in the Karoo, and the other on a climate change workshop.

Cederberg roads will always attract you like a moth to a flame

My Friends

Colleen Aldous


Geography for Educators 410 Lecture 1