From WikiEducator
Jump to: navigation, search



I am Katy Harries, a woman living in Durban, South Africa and working in medical education at the University of KwaZulu-Natal.

200px left

I am originally a pharmacist and I teach pharmacology. I have a special interest in rational drug prescribing and mathematical literacy which started as a result of seeing a need for nursing and medical students to develop competence in calculating drug doses correctly.

Home and Family

I am married with three young sons, aged 10, 8 and 4. I am interested in how children learn, particularly areas related to guided participation and dynamic intelligence. My eldest son has Aspergers Syndrome and consequently I've become interested in autism and particularly in the Relationship Development Intervention approach to remediating autism. My middle son has a cleft palate as a consequence of Pierre Robin Sequence and this has led to an interest in these conditions as well as in feeding difficulties.


I love reading about indigenous gardening and permaculture and would like to learn more and practice these kinds of gardening in my own garden.

Permaculture garden.JPG

Qualifications and activities

I have masters degrees in medicial science(pharmacology) and medical education (higher education). I am currently working on a PhD in education, looking at mathematics literacy in prescribers. I currently teach

  • dosage calculations
  • dosing drugs in renal impairment
  • drugs and the the endocrine system
  • drugs and the gastrointestinal system
  • drugs and the cardiovascular system


I am interested in mathemtics literacy and would like to collaborate with others

My friends

User:Falwalters UKZN Web2forDev Workshop

Interesting websites Name URL
row 1, cell 1 row 1, cell 2 row 1, cell 3
row 2, cell 1 row 2, cell 2 row 2, cell 3
row 3, cell 1 row 3, cell 2 row 3, cell 3

Hormonal Contraception